Клиент:
Политехнический музей
Дата:
11.10.2016
Структуры ДНК, РНК и белка - образовательный плакат
  • Поделиться

Студия Visual Science создала серию образовательных плакатов и приложение с дополненной реальностью для Научных лабораторий Политехнического музея в Москве. Проект призван мотивировать и привлечь внимание учеников к темам из школьной программы по естественным наукам, сочетая традиционную форму образовательного плаката, привычную большинству преподавателей, и понятный современным ученикам формат мобильного приложения. Для каждой из трех выбранных тем создана своя дополненная реальность и электронная версия плаката, дающая возможность углубиться в изучение вопроса в интерактивной форме.

Первая серия плакатов и разделов приложения посвящена четырем темам: Анатомия земноводного; ДНК, РНК, белок; Атом и Таблица растворимости. При разработке плакатов использовались научные методы и данные компьютерной микротомографии, молекулярного моделирования и динамики, а также данные о форме различных атомных орбиталей. Плакаты получают преподаватели, посетившие образовательные лаборатории Политехнического музея, а бесплатное приложение с дополненной реальностью и электронными версиями плакатов доступно в Google Play и App Store.

О плакате «ДНК, РНК, белок»

На плакате демонстрируются молекулы ДНК, РНК и белка, соответствующие гену человеческого инсулина и его продуктам. Структуры показаны в одном масштабе, что дает возможность оценить разницу их размеров. ДНК представлена в виде, приближенном к тому, в котором она встречается в ядрах человеческих клеток: отдельные участки молекулы находятся на с нуклеосомах — структурах, компактизующих ДНК в клетках. Для молекулы матричной РНК гена инсулина с применением методов молекулярной динамики была смоделирована возможная трехмерная структура. На примере самого инсулина демонстрируются уровни организации белковой молекулы от первичного — линейной последовательности аминокислот до четвертичной — комплекса из шести молекул белка.

Дополнительные блоки на плакате иллюстрируют суть центральной догмы молекулярной биологии, генетический код и принцип комплементарности, имеющий ключевое значение в биологии нуклеиновых кислот. Идеей было совмещение на одном плакате тем, которые тесно связаны по смыслу, но при этом обычно проходятся в школьной программе в разное время. Мы считаем, что это позволит учителю и ученикам возвращаться к плакату несколько раз по ходу изучения курса общей биологии. Также нам кажется важным в рамках нашего дополнительного учебного пособия давать альтернативный взгляд на школьную программу и последовательность освоения и подачи тем, чтобы у ученика была возможность взглянуть на строение белка и нуклеиновых кислот с разных сторон, по новому увидев взаимосвязь между ними.

Дополненная реальность к плакату позволяет вращать молекулы ДНК, РНК и белка вокруг одной оси на 360 градусов, показывая подписи к отдельным компонентам и частям молекул и комплексов. Электронная версия плаката содержит все изображения и схемы, представленные в печатной версии, и позволяет увеличить изображения ключевых молекул в несколько раз.

  • Руководство проекта, 3D-визуализация и моделирование:
    Иван Константинов
  • Дизайн и вёрстка:
    Кирилл Мартьянов
  • Научная консультация:
    Юрий Стефанов, к.б.н.
  • Молекулярное моделирование:
    Дмитрий Щербинин, к.б.н.
  • Программирование:
    Денис Исламов
  • Контроль высочайшего качества производства:
    Марина Деева

Выражаем благодарность Ивану Боганцеву (к.ф.н. заместитель генерального директора Политехнического музея по просветительской и образовательной работе) за вклад в проект и выведение идеи на новую орбиту

Over the last few months, we have been working with Ivan and his team to produce some excellent animations, and we are thrilled with the quality and detail that his team has produced. I would have no hesitation in recommending Visual Science to produce medical and scientific animations. They have been highly professional from the outset, and delivered a wonderful result, on time and on budget.
Dr Rishi Mehra (Staff Anaesthetist. Alfred Hospital, Melbourne, Australia Senior Lecturer, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia) on behalf of Professor Paul Myles, Dr Joel Symons, Dr Christine Ball and Wiley publishers

Client:
The Polytechnic Museum
Date:
03.12.2015
DNA, RNA and protein structure - educational poster
  • Share

Visual Science Studio created a series of educational posters and augmented reality applications for the Science Laboratories of the Polytechnic Museum in Moscow. The project aims to motivate and attract students’ attention to the topics of the school program in the natural sciences, combining the traditional form of the educational poster, familiar to most teachers and a user-friendly mobile application format. For each of the selected topics, we created their own augmented reality (AR) and the electronic version of the poster, which provides the opportunity to delve into the study of the issue in an interactive manner.

The first series of posters and application sections is devoted to four topics: Anatomy of the frog; DNA, RNA, and protein; the Atom; and a Solubility table. The poster design process involved using scientific methods such as computed microtomography, molecular modeling and dynamics, as well as data on the shape of different atomic orbitals. Posters are available for teachers who attended the educational laboratories of the Polytechnic Museum, a free app with augmented reality and electronic versions of the posters are available on Google Play and at the App Store.

DNA, RNA, protein

The poster demonstrates DNA, RNA and protein corresponding to the human insulin gene and its products. The structures are shown on the same scale, making it possible to evaluate the difference in their sizes. DNA is presented in a form close to that found in the nuclei of human cells: some parts of the molecule are attached to the nucleosomes — protein structures that pack DNA in the cells. The insulin messenger RNA molecule is depicted as a possible three-dimensional structure that was predicted using molecular dynamic methods. The insulin itself shows different levels of the protein molecule organization: from the primary — linear sequence of amino acids to the quaternary — the complex of six insulin molecules.

Additional blocks on a poster illustrate the central dogma of molecular biology, the genetic code and the principle of complementarity, which has a key role in the biology of nucleic acids. The idea was to combine in one poster closely related topics that are usually presented in school curriculum at different times. We believe that this will allow teachers and students to return to the poster several times in the course of studying general biology. We also think that it is important to give an alternative view on the topic comparing to the traditional school program so that the student has a chance to look at the structure of the protein and nucleic acids from different sides, seeing the new relationship between these structures. Augmented reality of the poster allows rotating DNA, RNA and protein around one axis, showing the captions to the individual components and parts of molecules and complexes. The electronic version of the poster contains all the images and diagrams shown in the printed version and allows for magnifying the images of key molecules.

  • Project manager, 3D visualiser:
    Ivan Konstantinov
  • Design:
    Kirill Martyanov
  • Science consultant:
    Yury Stefanov, Ph.D.
  • Molecular modeller:
    Dmitri Scherbinin, Ph.D.
  • Programming:
    Denis Islamov
  • Manufacturing quality control:
    Marina Deeva

We are grateful to Ivan Bogantsev (Ph.D. Deputy Director General for science communication and educational activity) for his input to the project

Designers and scientific consultants from Visual Science company demonstrate deep understanding of the subject and high level of professionalism resulting in remarkable quality of the product. Visual Science’s graphics is widely used in all presentational materials of the RUSNANO Corporation, including videos, brochures, press-releases and web-sites
A.V. Trapeznikov
Corporate director, Board member of RUSNANO